Home 2024 Joint Election Western Province Counting Stop: Potakana

Western Province Counting Stop: Potakana

Western Provincial Headquarters office. Photo credit @ Alfred Pagepitu


THE counting of Marovo Constituency ballot boxes was suspended by Western Province Election Manager Collin Potakana at 6 p.m. this evening.

The counting process has begun today for the remaining five constituencies.

Four constituencies, namely South Vella La Vella, Gizo/Kolombangara, South New Georgia, and Rendova Tetepari and Shortland Islands, have already completed their counting and announced their results.

According to Potakana, out of the five remaining constituencies, only Marovo Constituency has not yet completed its counting.

The counting was suspended this evening and will resume tomorrow morning.

“Only four batches have been counted as of 6 p.m. this evening.”

“An additional four batches will continue tomorrow with our counting officials,” said Potakana.

He mentioned that a total of eight batches are assigned to the Marovo Constituency, which is the largest constituency in the province.

Potakana stated that once all four batches are completed, the results of Marovo Constituency will be announced tomorrow.

“These results will determine the elected MP for Marovo Constituency.”

Potakana expressed his gratitude to the public for the good behavior shown after the results were announced this afternoon.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here